ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule Revealed: All You Need to Know About the Dates, Venues and Teams

From October 5 to November 19, 2023, India will host the ICC World Cup 2023, the 13th Men’s Cricket World Cup. For the first time since 1987, 1996, and 2011, India will host the competition alone. After round-robin play, the top four teams will progress to the semifinals and championship game. Here we will discuss ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule, Venue and Important Details.


The ICC World Cup 2023 will kick off on October 5 with England vs. New Zealand in Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium. On November 19, the final will take place at the same location. At the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, India will face Australia to open their campaign on October 8. On October 15 in Ahmedabad at the Narendra Modi Stadium, the highly awaited match between India and Pakistan will take place.

World Cup 2023 Schedule

World Cup 2023 Schedule
World Cup 2023 Schedule (Image Credit : ICC)

The whole tournament schedule is provided below:

October 5England vs New Zealand
October 6Bangladesh vs Afghanistan
October 7England vs New Zealand
October 8India vs Australia
October 9South Africa vs West Indies
October 10Pakistan vs Sri Lanka
October 11Afghanistan vs Zimbabwe
October 12Australia vs West Indies
October 13India vs South Africa
October 14Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka
October 15India vs Pakistan
October 16England vs Afghanistan
October 17New Zealand vs Zimbabwe
October 18South Africa vs Sri Lanka
October 19Australia vs Pakistan
October 20West Indies vs Zimbabwe
October 21India vs New Zealand
October 22England vs Bangladesh
October 23Afghanistan vs Pakistan
October 24Australia vs Sri Lanka
October 25West Indies vs New Zealand
October 26South Africa vs Zimbabwe
October 27India vs England
October 28Bangladesh vs Pakistan
October 29Afghanistan vs Australia
October 30New Zealand vs Sri Lanka
October 31West Indies vs Pakistan
November 1India vs Afghanistan
November 2England vs Australia
November 3Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe
November 4South Africa vs New Zealand
November 5West Indies vs Afghanistan
November 6India vs Bangladesh
November 7England vs Sri Lanka
November 8Australia vs Zimbabwe
November 9Pakistan vs New Zealand
November 10South Africa vs Afghanistan
November 11India vs Zimbabwe
November 12England vs Pakistan
November 13Australia vs South Africa
November 14West Indies vs Bangladesh

World Cup 2023 Semi Final

The Kolkata Eden Gardens and Mumbai Wankhede Stadium will host the semi-finals on November 16 and 17. Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium hosts the final on November 19.

Many People Read This : Asia Cup 2023: Teams, Squad, Tickets, Venue and Date, Broadcast

Qualification – World Cup 2023

All of Super League, Play-Off, and Qualifier will count towards ICC World Cup 2023 qualification. Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, the West Indies, and Zimbabwe compete in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League from July 2020 to March 2023. Every squad plays a total of eight opponents over the course of four home-and-away 3-game series. Only the top seven teams in the league will advance to the ICC World Cup in 2023; the next best five will compete in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-Off.

Six teams will compete in the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-Off in New Zealand. These teams include the four worst finishers from the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League and the two best teams from the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Challenge Leagues A and B. Two teams will advance to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Playoffs based on their performance in the play-off.

From June 18 to July 9, 2023, 10 teams will compete in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe. These teams come from the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League’s bottom five spots, League 2’s top three, and the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-Off’s top two. The top two teams in the qualifying tournament will advance to the 2023 ICC World Cup.

Team Ranking

The current team ranking of the 10 participating teams in the ICC World Cup 2023, based on the ICC Men’s ODI Team Rankings as of June 27, 2023, is as follows:

3New Zealand116
5South Africa107
8West Indies87
9Sri Lanka82

ICC World Cup 2023 Venue Details

The ICC World Cup 2023 will be played across nine venues in India, with each venue hosting at least four matches. The venues are:

  • Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad: Capacity – 132,000; Matches – 9 (including opening match and final)
  • Eden Gardens, Kolkata: Capacity – 66,000; Matches – 6 (including semi-final)
  • Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai: Capacity – 33,000; Matches – 6 (including semi-final)
  • M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai: Capacity – 50,000; Matches – 6
  • Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi: Capacity – 41,000; Matches – 5
  • M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru: Capacity – 40,000; Matches – 5
  • Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad: Capacity – 39,000; Matches – 5
  • Green Park Stadium, Kanpur: Capacity – 32,000; Matches – 4
  • Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur: Capacity – 30,000; Matches – 4

World Cup 2023 India Matches List

India will face all nine teams in the league stage in a round-robin style.

World Cup 2023 India Matches List
World Cup 2023 India Matches List

Cricket World Cup – 2023 Points Table

2023 Points Table

The points table of the ICC World Cup 2023 will be updated after each match. The points system is as follows:

  • Win: 2 points
  • Tie or No Result: 1 point
  • Loss: 0 point

The top four teams at the end of the round-robin stage will qualify for the semi-finals. If two or more teams are tied on points, the following criteria will be used to determine the order:

  • Higher number of wins
  • Higher net run rate
  • Higher number of wickets taken per balls bowled
  • Result of head to head match
  • Drawing of lots

Winners Prize Money

The winner of the ICC World Cup 2023 will be decided by the final match on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The winner will receive a trophy and a prize money of USD 4 million. The runner-up will receive USD 2 million. The losing semi-finalists will receive USD 800,000 each. The remaining six teams will receive USD 100,000 each.

Leave a Comment

Buy Home New Honda Elevate at Just Rs 2.1 Lakh Buy Home New Nexon Facelift At Just 1.33 Lakh Rs Buy New Creta at Just Rs 1.85 Lakh Rs Buy Hyundai Venue at Just Rs 1.26 lakh Only Buy New Hyundai Exter SUV At Just Rs 1 Lakh Buy New Tata Punch SUV at Just 2 Lakh Rs